Board of Directors


Lynwood L. McHatten
With A BSE from UMPI, and a Master’s of Education in Guidance and Counseling from UMO, Mr. McHatten has been teaching in and around Ashland for over 40 years. In addition to his work with Aroostook County schools, he has also been very active in Ashland Community School athletics, and in 2009 was inducted into the Maine Sports Legends Hall of Fame. Len has been on the Carleton Board of Directors since the inception of the school. He also sits on the Northwood Manor Board and is a Maine Community Foundation Advisor.


Jerry T. White, Secretary and Treasurer
 Jerry has been an active Superintendent for over 26 years. Recipient of Maine’s Superintendent of the Year 1989, he has been at the forefront of school technologies (receiving Maine’s first technology innovation grant in 1986). In addition he was also a founding member of the ECO2000 School, an interdisciplinary, multi-district, award-winning cyber school. In 2003, Jerry was selected from an elite group to receive the AASA/Apple President’s Technology Award, recognizing those who have demonstrated leadership in technological innovation.


Alan Morris
Founder of Carleton Project, Alan Morris has been teaching and advocating for alternative education practices for over thirty years.

Alan  teaches at the Houlton location.



Kim-Anne Perkins, Chair
With a BA in Oncology Social Work from Simmons College, and a MSW from Eastern Washington University, Kim-Anne Perkins has made an impressive mark for herself in Northern Maine.  A retired professor of Social Work at University of Maine’s Presque Isle Campus, she is  a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, working with individuals and families, is clinical consultant for Aroostook Counseling and Evaluation services, and is an active member of the Commission on Curriculum and Educational Innovation. Kim-Anne is a valuable resource for Carleton Project, opening doors to the University and providing countless opportunities for Carleton students. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.